Preparation to Wander

I know that title does not make sense.  Wandering is meandering is wondering is drifting is moving with the breeze.  But to safely wander, I must plan.  I wish I could just land in a country and lazily shuffle my feet along cobbles, concrete, and sand.  With no concern of personal safety I would set out to view to listen to taste.  Instead I have gone high-tech, it is either this or face the reality of a necessary bi-daily phone call home.  I have chosen the former with a google calendar so all can track my every step [in Jesus’ mind you], but then, maybe that defeats part of the safety plan?

What will I find along my journey?  What preconceived notions will be mistakenly packed along with my sleep sack and quick-dry panties?  How do I hide issues of entitlement, judgment, and blond hair?  Will it be possible to block the sounds of my unending thoughts so I may clearly hear the shofar or adhan – a call to turn attention to the Universe?

My gastro-intestinal system has been whacked out recently… how much worse an experience should I be ready for in mere weeks?  Will I be too hot?  Most are warning me of being too cold… but this is difficult to comprehend with it already 20F outside now.

Who will I meet?  Will a path be made clear for me to accomplish idealistic notions of creating solidarity with feminists abroad?  Do Aussie’s travel the M.E. with much frequency?  [hoping not] How do I express gratitude of being allowed to temporarily exist in a significant part of the world without permitting myself to smile candidly when out and about?  This is of great concern.

I have studied the planets of loneliness, but is this an adequate way to prepare?  Web searches and far-flung emails have not reaped many leads.  I am tempted to throw caution to the wind and just go, much as I did for Europe.  But then, I had my share of difficulty and I’m not sure I am as open and interested in allowing public transportation to take me along the tracks to destination unknown.  No, this will not do in such territory.

To prepare, to wander.  I hope a soft heart and a mind of curiosity is itinerary enough.

Leave a comment