Day three.

I find Jerusalem to be quite exhausting!  Travel is tiring as it requires all of your energy in making non-stop decisions, following maps, and keeping items secure.  I had a hard time with each today. 

 I was pretty decisive this morning, decided I would go to the Museum on the Seam.  But then everything after that was a blur of indecision.  I only have a map in my lonely planet, and it is vague and thus challenging to follow.  I think I came close to destination two 5 times before finding it and also finding it closed.  But at least I found the city centre, a hub of real-life commotion. 

The last “ugh of travel” was on my way back to my hostel through Damascus gate.  At the last park bench stop I accidently left my outside backpack zipper open.  Only unimportant things get shoved in there, but it is still unnerving to find it has been open while wandering the streets.  I made my way down the steps and through the gate when a teenage boy ran up to me with my bandana in hand.  He thrust it at me and said something that I could not understand then ran away.  I shoved it in the side pocket and continued on.  Not 10 seconds later another teenage boy said “open, open” and pointed to my bag.  Ahh, I get it. 

I had that moment of yikes!  What else fell out?  But I think all is accounted for.  I was surprised that no one else in the past 15 minutes had bothered to tell me about my bag, but in awe that when it became critical it be shut amongst the stalls and crowds in narrow lanes, two young guys went out of their way to help.  Another stereotype falls…

One thought on “Day three.

Leave a comment